Frequently Asked Questions

What is an "unsupported bikepacking race" and what are the rules?

An "unsupported bikepacking race" is not a bicycle race in the classical sense. From a technical point of view, the TransOst Challenge is a training ride or a completely normal bike tour on an unmarked or closed off track. It's about creating the route within a certain maximum time (four weeks) on gravel or mountain bikes. All participants start together in front of the Festival Theatre in Bayreuth (Germany) on 12 July.

The pre-defined route is given as a GPS track for the participants and can be followed in real time via live tracking online at www.transost-challenge.de Participants are responsible for themselves all the time and must take care of themselves. Bags are used to transport the most necessary items such as stoves, tents, food etc.

Riders should abide by the "Code of Ethics". This means that the route must be completed with your own muscle power on a given GPS track. Any pre-planning (hotels, etc.) is prohibited and equipment must be transported by yourself. External help is only allowed if it is spontaneous. The principle of "commercial service only" applies.

It is also noted that the road traffic regulations also apply in the forest (lighting system, etc.).

Can anyone join in?

Any interested person, male or female, over an age of 18 years can participate. However, you should be aware of what you are getting involved with. The requirements are demanding and require experience and physical fitness.

Why is the race called "Challenge"?

The "unsupported bikepacking race" TransOst Challenge takes place on many sections of the TransOst guide company and is normally runs in weekly intervals. However, covering the entire stretch from Bayreuth to the Black Sea in one piece is a very special challenge. A challenge that has to be mastered – your personal challenge.

Why this route?

We risk to take the adventure of conquering the whole mountain range of the Fichtel Mountains, the Ore Mountains, the Sudeten (among others the Giant Mountains / Altvatergebirge), the Beskydy Mountains, the High Tatras and the Carpathians. When you open the atlas and look at the topographic map, you can see the long mountain range.

How hard is the track?

The route is originally explored as a mountain bike tour. Especially for the Challenge the track has been optimized. There are less difficult mountain bike trails, but there are more gravel, forest and forest trails as well as small roads. However, the track retains its off-road character. Every participant should be trained in cyckubg technique and also off-road riding.

Track condition?

Most of the route leads along paths, forest and forest paths as well as small roads. However, there are still some trails available. Sometimes even a part of a large main street cannot be avoided. Please exercise caution.

Can you ride in a group?

Registration for teams is not possible. However, it is entirely up to you to manage the route, or only parts of it, together.

Do I have to organise my own accommodation, meals, travel and return journey?

The TOC takes place as an un- or self-supported race. The participant is responsible for all aspects of the trip. Accommodation, rest and refreshment areas are not provided. Participants are responsible for their own arrival and departure.

Are there support points along the way?

Support points are not set up. However, the participants must pass three checkpoints and register in a list.

How often can I fill up my food and water?

Beverages and food can be bought anywhere along the road. The route passes through small villages and towns. However, it is always advisable to have a reserve of water with you. Especially in the Ukrainian and Romanian Carpathians, the population is getting thinner and you should have an emergency supply and use the available possibilities to fill up your food supply. One week before the start we will send you an updated race manual. In this we will also include the information where the longest "unpopulated" section of the route awaits you and how long it is.

Are there bicycle shops on the way for any repairs?

In the smaller towns there are mostly bicycle shops. But please remember, the more special (modern) your bike is, the less likely it is that there will be spare parts. Replacement for e. g. thru-axles, 12-speed gears, special spokes or bottom bracket bearings etc. are difficult to obtain.

Do I need a visa for Ukraine?

With a passport (valid for at least six months) every German citizen can enter Ukraine visa-free for 90 days. However, each participant must inform himself/herself about entry formalities or regulations. Crossing the border into Ukraine is normally uncomplicated and can be done by simply showing your passport.

Is there a travel warning and security policy for Ukraine?

The Foreign Office has issued a travel warning for the eastern part of Ukraine (Donetsk and Luhansk region). Our route is 1,500 kilometers from the conflict zone in the east. There is currently no travel warning for the West, the Carpathian region. However, we recommend that each participant should inform himself/herself at the Federal Foreign Office before the race.

What do I get for my registration fee?

The 149 EUR registration fee includes the route data as a GPS track and a borrowed GPS tracker, which must be returned to Constanta. The entire organisation and support is included in the registration fee. If you cancel, you must return the tracker to usp management UG (haftungsbeschränkt), Schillerstraße 1, 01326 Dresden, Germany within one week. There are no further costs to participate in the race.

If you have your own GPS tracker (preferably SPOT) you pay only 99 EUR registration fee.

Are there any prizes to win?

Since the TransOst Challenge is not an official race in the classical sense and does not take place on closed and specially marked tracks, there are no official prizes or rankings. The task is to complete the route in five weeks. However, we do have live tracking and a finisher's list at www.transost-challenge.de, which lists the travel times. Bike24.de gives away a shopping voucher worth 250 EUR as recognition for the rider, who reaches Constanza first.

What type of bike do you recommend?

We recommend mountain bikes. Gravel bikes with wide tyres are also possible.

Will there be an opening ceremony?

Every participant has to register in Bayreuth (Germany) on 11 July between 6 and 10 pm. The exact location will be announced.

There will be a reception for all participants and the public at 7 pm. The participants have the opportunity to get to know each other. The appointment serves as a briefing for the participants. We present the route and answer last questions. The location will be announced.

Where is the destination and what should I do when I get there?

The destination is in Constanta. The exact location will be announced. When you arrive you have to unsubscribe in a list and we would like to take a finisher photo of you. We expect the first rider in Constanta after two weeks.

Tips for preparation?

We can't give you the ONE tip. BUT we kindly ask you to make a good estimate as to whether you will be able to cover an average of 85 km of mountain or gravel bike kilometres per day over a period of five weeks. (You can also cycle 100 km every day and take a day break in between). Others of you will cycle every day in one stretch.

How to navigate?

You will receive the track data in GPX format. To process this data you need either a stand-alone navigation device or a smartphone with navigation app. Bicycle navigation systems are available for example from Tahuna/Teasi, Garmin and Polar. Smartphone apps are for example Komoot, Naviki, Locus, Oruxmaps. For the TransOst Challenge we recommend a stand-alone navigation device, so that you still have the smartphone as a backup. You should take a powerbank with you to be able to navigate for a longer period of time. Most devices last about 8 hours without external power supply.

Häufige Fragen

Was ist ein „unsupported bikepacking race“ und welche Regeln gibt es?

Ein „unsupportetes bikepacking race“ ist kein Fahrradrennen im klassischen Sinne. Technisch gesehen ist die TransOst Challenge eine Trainingsfahrt oder eine ganz normale Biketour auf einer nicht markierten oder abgesperrten Strecke. Es geht darum, die Strecke innerhalb einer bestimmten Maximalzeit (vier Wochen), auf Gravel- oder Mountainbikes, zu schaffen. Alle Teilnehmer starten am 12. Juli in Bayreuth gemeinsam vor dem Festspielhaus.

Die vorgegebene Route wird als GPS-Track für die Teilnehmer vorgegeben und kann per Live-Tracking in Echtzeit online unter www.transost-challenge.de verfolgt werden. Die Teilnehmer sind während der ganzen Zeit für sich selbst verantwortlich und müssen sich selbst versorgen. Mit Taschen werden die nötigsten Dinge wie Kocher, Zelt, Verpflegung usw. transportiert.

Die Fahrer sollen sich an den „Ehrenkodex“ halten. Das heißt, die Strecke muss mit eigener Muskelkraft auf vorgegebenem GPS-Track absolviert werden. Jegliche Vorplanung (Hotels usw.) ist untersagt und Ausrüstung muss selbst transportiert werden. Fremde Hilfe ist nur dann erlaubt, wenn sie spontan erfolgt. Es gilt das Prinzip „nur kommerzieller Service an kommerziellen Plätzen“.

Ferner wird angemerkt, dass die StVO und StVZO auch im Wald gelten (Lichtanlage usw.)

Kann jeder mitmachen?

Jeder Interessierte, ob Mann oder Frau, über 18 Jahre kann teilnehmen. Allerdings sollte euch bewusst sein, worauf ihr euch einlasst. Die Anforderungen sind anspruchsvoll und setzen Erfahrung und körperliche Fitness voraus.

Warum heißt das Rennen „Challenge“?

Das „unsupported bikepacking race“ TransOst Challenge findet auf vielen Streckenabschnitten der Guidingfirma TransOst statt und wird normalerweise in Wochenabschnitten gefahren. Die gesamte Strecke von Bayreuth bis ans Schwarze Meer am Stück zu bestreiten ist allerdings eine ganz besondere Herausforderung. Eine Herausforderung, welche es zu bewältigen gilt – deine persönliche Challenge.

Warum diese Strecke?

Wir wagen das Abenteuer, den gesamten Gebirgsgürtel vom Fichtelgebirge, über das Erzgebirge, die Sudeten (u.a. Riesengebirge / Altvatergebirge), die Beskiden, die Hohe Tatra und die Karpaten, anzugehen. Schlägt man den Atlas auf und schaut auf die Topografische Karte, erkennt man den langen Gebirgszug.

Wie schwer ist die Strecke?

Die Strecke ist ursprünglich als Mountainbike-Tour erkundet. Extra für die Challenge ist die Strecke optimiert wurden. Es gibt weniger schwere Mountainbike-Trails, dafür mehr Gravel-, Wald- und Forstwege, sowie kleine Straßen. Jedoch behält die Strecke ihren Offroad-Charakter. Jeder Teilnehmer sollte fahrtechnisch und auch im Gelände geübt sein.

Streckenbeschaffenheit?

Überwiegend führt die Strecke über Pfade, Wald- und Forstwege, sowie kleine Straßen. Jedoch ist nach wie vor ein Anteil an Trails vorhanden. Manchmal lässt sich auch ein Stück große Hauptstraße nicht vermeiden. Bitte Vorsicht walten lassen.

Kann man in einer Gruppe fahren?

Eine Anmeldung für Teams ist nicht möglich. Jedoch ist es ganz euch selbst überlassen, die Strecke, oder auch nur Teilabschnitte, gemeinsam zu bewältigen.

Muss ich Unterkünfte, Verpflegung, Anfahrt und Rückfahrt selber organisieren?

Die TOC findet als Un- oder Selfsupported Rennen statt. Der Teilnehmer ist grundsätzlich für alle Belange der Reise selbst verantwortlich. Es werden weder Unterkunft, noch Rast- oder Erfrischungsplätze gestellt. Für die An- und Abreise sind die Teilnehmer selbst verantwortlich.

Gibt es unterwegs Stützpunkte?

Stützpunkte werden nicht eingerichtet. Jedoch müssen die Teilnehmer an drei Checkpoints vorbeifahren und sich in eine Liste eintragen.

In welchen Abständen kann ich Verpflegung und Wasser auftanken?

Getränke und Lebensmittel können unterwegs überall eingekauft werden. Die Strecke führt immer wieder durch kleine Dörfer und Städte. Es empfiehlt sich jedoch immer eine Reserve an Wasser dabei zu haben. Vor allem in den ukrainischen und rumänischen Karpaten wird die Besiedlung dünner und ihr solltet einen Notvorrat dabei haben und die vorhandenen Möglichkeiten die Verpflegung aufzufüllen nutzen. Eine Woche vor dem Beginn senden wir euch ein aktualisiertes Race-Manual. In diesem werden wir auch die Information einfügen, wo euch der längste „unbesiedelte“ Streckenabschnitt erwartet und wie lang dieser ist.

Gibt es unterwegs Fahrradläden für eventuelle Reparaturen?

In den kleineren Städten sind meist Radläden vorhanden. Denkt aber bitte daran, je spezieller (moderner) euer Fahrrad, desto unwahrscheinlicher ist, dass es Ersatzmaterial gibt. Ersatz für z. B. Steckachsen, 12-fach Schaltungen, spezial Speichen oder Tretlager etc. sind nur schwer zu erhalten.

Muss ich mich um Visa für die Ukraine kümmern?

Mit einem Reisepass (min. sechs Monate Gültigkeit) kann jeder deutsche Staatsbürger für 90 Tage visumfrei in die Ukraine einreisen. Jeder Teilnehmer muss sich jedoch selbst um Einreiseformalitäten oder Bestimmungen informieren. Der Grenzübertritt in die Ukraine ist im Normalfall unkompliziert und mit einfachem Vorzeigen des Reisepasses möglich.

Gibt es eine Reisewarnung und Sicherheitsbestimmungen für die Ukraine?

Für den Osten der Ukraine (Region Donezk und Luhansk) besteht eine Reisewarnung durch das Auswärtige Amt. Unsere Route ist 1.500 Kilometer von dem Konfliktgebiet im Osten entfernt. Für den Westen, der Karpatenregion, besteht derzeit keine Reisewarnung. Jedoch empfehlen wir jedem Teilnehmer sich vor dem Rennen noch einmal selbst beim Auswärtigen Amt zu informieren. www.auswaertiges-amt.de.

Was bekomme ich für mein Anmeldegebühr?

In den 149 EUR Anmeldegebühr sind die Streckendaten als GPS-Track enthalten, sowie ein geliehener GPS-Tracker, welcher in Konstanza wieder abgegeben werden muss. Die gesamte Organisation und Betreuung ist in der Anmeldegebühr enthalten. Solltet ihr abbrechen, müsst ihr den Tracker innerhalb einer Woche an die usp management UG (haftungsbeschränkt), Schillerstraße 1, 01326 Dresden zurücksenden. Weitere Kosten um am Rennen teilzunehmen entstehen nicht.

Wer über einen eigenen GPS-Tracker verfügt (vorzugsweise SPOT) zahlt nur 99 EUR Anmeldegebühr.

Gibt es Preise zu gewinnen?

Da die TransOst Challenge kein offizielles Rennen im klassischen Sinne ist und nicht auf gesperrten und extra markierten Wegen stattfindet, gibt es auch keine offiziellen Preise oder Wertungsranglisten. Die Aufgabe ist, die Strecke in vier Wochen zu schaffen. Wir führen jedoch auf www.transost-challenge.de ein Live-Tracking und eine Finisher-Liste, in der die Fahrtzeiten vermerkt sind. Bike24.de stellt einen Einkaufgutschein im Wert von 250 EUR als Anerkennung für den Fahrer, welcher als erstes Konstanza erreicht.

Welchen Radtyp empfehlt ihr?

Wir empfehlen Mountainbikes. Auch Gravelbikes mit breiten Reifen (unbedingt mit Stollenprofil) sind möglich.

Wird es eine Eröffnungsveranstaltung geben?

Jeder Teilnehmer muss sich in Bayreuth am 11. Juli zw. 18:00 und 22:00 Uhr registrieren. Der genaue Ort wird noch bekannt gegeben.

19 Uhr gibt es einen Empfang für alle Teilnehmer und die Öffentlichkeit. Da haben die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit sich kennen zu lernen. Der Termin dient als Briefing der Teilnehmer. Wir stellen die Strecke vor und beantworten letzte Fragen. Der Ort wird noch bekannt gegeben.

Wo ist das Ziel und was soll ich tun, wenn ich dort ankomme?

Das Ziel ist in Konstanza. Der genaue Ort wird bekannt gegeben. Wenn du ankommst musst du dich in einer Liste austragen und wir würden gern ein Finisher-Foto von dir machen. Wir rechnen mit dem ersten Fahrer in Konstanza nach zwei Wochen.

Tipps zur Vorbereitung?

Den EINEN Tipp können wir euch nicht geben. ABER wir bitten euch, dass ihr euch richtig einschätzt, ob ihr über fünf Wochen, durchschnittlich 85 km Mountain- oder Gravelbike-Kilometer am Tag bewältigen könnt. (Ihr könnt auch jeden Tag 100 km fahren und macht dann mal einen Tag Pause dazwischen). Andere von euch, werden am Stück durchfahren.

Wie navigiere ich?

Du erhältst die Streckendaten im GPX-Format. Um diese zu verabeiten brauchst du entweder ein eigenständiges Navigationsgerät oder ein Smartphone mit Navigations-App. Fahrrad-Navis gibt es zum Beispiel von Tahuna/Teasi, Garmin und Polar. Als Smartphone App geht zum Beispiel Komoot, Naviki, Locus, Oruxmaps. Für die TransOst Challenge empfiehlt sich ein eigenständiges Navigationsgerät, damit du das Smartphone noch als Reserve hat. Eine Powerbank solltest du mitnehmen, um über längere Zeit navigieren zu können. Die meisten Geräte halten ohne externe Stromversorgung ca. 8 Stunden.